Question: How Do I Delete Old Text Messages?

Why do people delete their texts?

With the passage of time, these tiny messages start taking space of your smartphone’s memory, which results in slow processing.

By deleting your text messages regularly, you can free up space and practically make your phone work faster.

It’s always better to let those old texts die along with the relationship..

How can I delete a text message I sent?

Deleting text messagesOpen the Messages app.Go into a message thread, and then tap and hold the specific message you want to delete.Select Delete from the options.

Should you delete old text messages?

Delete old text message threads When you send and receive text messages, your phone automatically stores them for safe keeping. If these texts contain images or videos, they can take up a considerable amount of space. Fortunately, you do not need to go back and manually delete all your old text messages.

How do you delete old text messages on Android?

Android PhoneLaunch the ‘Text Messages’ app on your Android device.Tap on the ‘Menu’ option at top right corner of the screen.Now choose ‘Settings’ option.A drop down list will appear, choose “Delete old messages” option.More items…•

How long do text messages stay on your Android?

Tap Settings, Messages, then scroll down and tap Keep Messages (under the Message History heading). Go ahead and decide how long you’d like to keep old text messages before they’re deleted: for 30 days, a whole year, or forever and ever.

How long do text messages stay on android phone?

The text messages are stored in both locations. Some phone companies also keep records of sent text messages. They sit on the company’s server for anywhere from three days to three months, depending on the company’s policy. Verizon holds texts for up to five days and Virgin Mobile keeps them for 90 days.

How do I delete a text message I sent to the wrong person?

Open the message you want to recall or undo and then click Actions and click Recall This Message. Then you can Delete the unread version of your sent message.

What happens when you delete a text thread?

When you move messages around or delete them, the data actually stays put. All you’re doing is telling the phone to point at the files in different ways. Deleting a message from the inbox, for instance, just tells the phone not to point to it any more when it’s listing the contents of that folder.

Are text messages stored forever?

Probably not—although there are exceptions. Most cell phone carriers don’t permanently save the enormous amount of text-message data that is sent between users every day. … But even if your deleted text messages are off your carrier’s server, they may not be gone forever.

How do I delete old text messages on my iPhone?

How to delete a conversation on an iPhoneOpen the Messages app.Scroll through your messages until you find the conversation that you want to remove.Swipe to the left until you see “Delete.” … Tap “Delete” and then tap “Delete” again in the confirmation window that appears at the bottom of the screen.

Does deleting a text message delete it for the other person?

If you have sent a text message (SMS), deleting the message from your phone will not delete the message from the recipient’s phone. Other messaging systems may let you delete the message, but then again, they may already have read it.

Can you delete texts from someone else’s phone?

If You’ve Ever Wanted To Erase Your Texts From Someone Else’s Phone, Then You Should Try Wiper. … With one tap, you can delete your entire conversation, and not just from your phone. Wiper even lets you erase your conversations from others’ phones, too.

Can you permanently delete a text message?

Instead, Safewiper Android data eraser program can be able to scan all your already deleted and existing messages from your Android phone, and ensures that your information is safe by permanently erasing deleted files. Nothing is recoverable unlike restoring factory setting and delete button.